top of page
  • Writer's picturefromanotherealm

Benefits Of A Social Media Blackout?


 

Social media blackout benefits


A social media blackout is deactivating your accounts for a certain period of time. I am an avid social media blackout user. I have been taking breaks from social media ever since I've started using social sharing platforms. The longest blackout I've taken was a year off, more recently six months and this year four months. Having a social media blackout lets me go within and focus on myself vs the outside world. I find it very therapeutic to take the time, energy and attention back into me. Below are a number of reasons why taking a social media break is beneficial for your mental, emotional, physical and spiritual health.


Mental health break

The constant contact will weigh you down if you are plugged into social media on a regular basis. It's important to note almost all users on social media post their "highlight reels" of their lives vs real day life. Please don’t let what people post on social media get you down. Remember it isn’t real life. It is the highlight reel of everyone else’s lives that they want you to see. Other people's lives often seem “perfect” on social media, but they rarely are. Oftentimes this is a self made image or a "social mask" to hide behind to make them appear they are happy, loved, successful, etc. DO NOT let it make you feel inadequate when you start comparing others lives to your life. You are an amazing person for so many reasons! It can be draining if you feel like you have to live up to a certain expectation. Put social media on pause!



RECHARGES YOUR BATTERIES


If you are feeling like you are at 1%, it means you are close to a mental, emotional, physical or spiritual burnout. Your body is telling you that it's time to recharge. How? Get outside into nature, take a walk, conscious breathing, take a bath, change your diet, stretch, do yoga, meditate, read a book, get creative, write, whatever puts you into a positive frame of mind. I find that being on social media keeps me from being in the present moment and is a major distraction. I tried to keep the content that I consume to a minimum. My time, energy and attention are valuable to me. I am mindful of the people who I surround myself with and the content I consume. It's vital to take the time for yourself to recharge your batteries so you can be your best self and live your best life.



IT’S GOOD FOR YOUR SOUL


Do things to feed your soul. It's very therapeutic and cathartic to get off your phone and social media sites. By doing this you can begin to live in the moment. Documenting your day to day life can be a burden that takes you out of the moment. If you are living thru the lens of social media instead of real life, your experiences are going to be less memorable and more stressful. Many studies have shown that the more time you spend on social media, the more likely you are to develop depression. The amount of time you spend on these sites is directly correlated with how you are feeling. If you are feeling depressed, stressed out or anxious this is a good time to take a social media detox. At first, it may be odd but your overall happiness, mood and vibration will improve as you stay away from social media sites.



Get Free Time back


Do you feel like you never have time for yourself? When you put social media on pause you will regain close to 2 hours daily, which you can devote your time and energy into improving your life. I recommend you get outside into nature, sunshine and fresh air and go for a walk. Doing this daily offers many physical, mental, spiritual and emotional health benefits. In my opinion, this is better usage of your time than scrolling through your social media feeds.



How Long Should I Blackout My Social Media?


This is dependent on why you are taking a social media blackout in the first place. I would recommend you see how you feel after a day, a week, a month, a couple of months then go from there. Every person will be different, do what feels right for you.

Going through a spiritual awakening?


During an awakening, it may be useful to have some professional guidance: someone who can confidently, patiently and without judgement help us, step by step through the healing process. If you are in need of someone to talk with about triggers, past trauma, childhood wounds or repressed emotions. I am available for online booking please contact me directly at: fromanotherealm@gmail.com



Face whatever is holding you back head on and it no longer has power over you, you have power over it! Awareness and anything can't co exist. Awareness is more powerful than your ego, your emotions, your thoughts and your feelings. Awareness is what gets you back home to your soul purpose.


You can use your pain and turn it into power. If you are willing to work on where your pain comes from, the lesson to be learned and turn your knowledge into action, you can use your suffering to turn you into a stronger and wiser person! I look forward to working with you on your spiritual journey.

Love & Light,

Namaste ~ Paulina


Hello, my name is Paulina. I went through a spiritual awakening journey in 2018. I am in touch with my higher self and want to help you find yours. Until your higher self kicks in let me be your guide back home. Book 1:1 sessions with me: fromanotherealm@gmail.com

Комментарии


bottom of page