top of page
  • Writer's picturefromanotherealm

Social Media : Highlight Reel



I don't always have it together. Most of the time I'm having breakdowns after break through.


I'm not always positive.


I'm not always smiling.


I'm not always mindful.


I'm not always balanced.


I don't always look like this.


I'm not always in a good mood.


We have to remember that social media is a highlight reel not real life. Meaning everyone shares their best moments in life, myself included. Social media is not real life and it never will be. The “highlight-reel effect” is rooted in the fact that social media is a highlight reel, but often fails to be recognized as such.


Comparing lives through social media:


Oftentimes, we are connected to people we don't really know that well outside of social media- acquaintances, randoms, colleagues, friends of friends and professional contacts. It’s then easy to look at their social updates and think that everyone but you is experiencing the most amazing lives! Which isn't true.


The problem with this is that when we look at their social media updates and compare our lives to others. The problem arises when we compare our lows to somebody's high. We have not walked a day in their shoes and really have no idea of what their day to day life looks like and what they are struggling with.


I personally think comparing who we are and what we do to others is very unhealthy and very damaging to our mind, body and soul connection. Comparison is the thief of joy!


The process of evaluating our own life, looks, behavior, thoughts, emotions, relationships, jobs, houses and clothes to one another is one of the most harmful internal narratives we can have! And when we are constantly comparing, we feel less grateful and appreciative of what we do have which is the opposite of an "attitude of gratitude."


This is why I am personally very mindful of the accounts that I am following on social media. If the accounts I am following don't inspire, uplift and educate me - then I don't see the purpose of following them.


Comparison will not help you achieve your goals in life, it will only bring you down. Focus on yourself, your life and your goals and you will live a happier, more peaceful and more fulfilled life.


Going Through A Spiritual Awakening?

During an awakening, it may be useful to have some professional guidance: someone who can confidently, patiently and without judgement help us, step by step through the healing process. If you are in need of someone to talk with about triggers, past trauma, childhood wounds or repressed emotions. I am available for online booking please contact me directly at: fromanotherealm@gmail.com



Face whatever is holding you back head on and it no longer has power over you, you have power over it! Awareness and anything can't co exist. Awareness is more powerful than your ego, your emotions, your thoughts and your feelings. Awareness is what gets you back home to your soul purpose.

You can use your pain and turn it into power. If you are willing to work on where your pain comes from, the lesson to be learned and turn your knowledge into action, you can use your suffering to turn you into a stronger and wiser person! I look forward to working with you on your spiritual journey.


Love & Light,


Namaste ~ Paulina 🙏


Hello, my name is Paulina. I went through a spiritual awakening journey in 2018. I am in touch with my higher self and want to help you connect to yours. Until your higher self kicks in, let me be your guide back 🌈 home. Book 1:1 sessions with me: fromanotherealm@gmail.com 

Comentarios


bottom of page